EPD Bursary Awards Presentation

Elite Player Development Bursary Program

On Saturday the 10th of December 7 members of the Longford GAA EPD program were presented with an Academic Bursary of €750 in the fabulous setting of the BackStage Theatre Longford.

The players rewarded on the night were:

  • Enda Macken – Colmcille
  • Kevin Sorohan – Rathcline
  • Micheal Hughes – Killoe Young Emmets
  • Nigel Rabbitt – Abbeylara
  • Pete Hanley – Clonguish
  • Rían Brady – Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
  • Ronan Sweeney – Clonguish

These awardees as well as their family and invited guests joined the 20/20 Vision For Longford committee, Chairperson of Longford GAA Brendan Gilmore, members of the County executive and program sponsors as over 70 people celebrated the players achievements from both on and off the field.

Bríd Mc Goldrick Chairperson of 20/20 and Cyril Connor committee member overseen proceedings as each of the 7 players were presented with their cheque of €750.

This initiative was backed by sponsors Bord na Mona, C&D Foods, Cooney Precision Engineering and a number of anonymous sponsors as well as the funds raised from the Seamus Butler sponsored Golf Classic.

The 20/20 Committee have put in a huge amount of work towards the development of Longford football and Saturday night was a fitting close to their work for 2016.

The feedback from awardees and their parents was unanimously positive as they acknowledged the benefit this bursary would have on their sons life.

This was the first year of the scheme and no doubt will remain and hopefully expand in the years ahead.

Finally congratulations again to the 7 awardees and good luck in 2017 as you again put in your all for Longford GAA

See http://longfordgaa.ie/gallery/event-photos/ for photos from the event