History: 1970-1979

1970 – Leinster Semi Final

After the disappointment of the 1969 campaign, Longford looked to make amends in the championship. A first round win over Dublin on a scoreline of 2-14 to 3-8 set up a game with Louth. Longford won the quarter final 1-12 to 1-9 against Louth in a convincing manner. The semi final was played in Croke Park as Longford and Offaly drew 1-9 to 0-12. Offaly would win the replay 1-13 to 1-8, an Offaly team that won go on to win two All-Irelands in the coming years. 1971 started well as Longford reached the semi final of the national league, coming up short against Dublin. Offaly were to prove too good in the championship winning 1-7 to 0-3.

1972 – National League Division 2 Winners

1972 saw Longford win out division 2 of the national league, winning the semi final over Westmeath 0-16 to 3-5 and the final over Roscommon on a scoreline of 0-9 to 0-6. The championship started with a 4-9 to 0-5 win over Wicklow and was followed up with a 5-5 to 3-7 win over Louth, but Meath were to prove too strong the next day out as they won 0-16 to 1-9. The national league restart at the end of the year also saw notable wins over Galway, Kerry, Kildare and Dublin. 1973 however saw this run in the league come to an end with three defeats. Kildare proved too strong in the championship as they won the first round match 0-13 to 0-8.

1974 – Minors reach Leinster Final

1974 saw Longford, now trained by John Donlon, show their worth with a draw against All-Ireland champions Cork in the league, but Kildare were to be too strong in the first round of the championship wining 2-10 to 0-11. 1974 however saw a great run in the minor championship. A first round win over Kildare, the first for seven years, set up a semi final against Dublin, where Longford won 0-12 to 0-6 to reach the final against Wicklow. Longford just didn’t perform on the day and Wicklow capitalised to win 4-2 to 1-2. The Longford team was J Martin, Pat Higgins, G Fayne, Paddy Kiernan, T Gill, S O’Shea, Danny Murray, P Mulvey, Liam Tierney, J Brady, P McGrath, G Meenaghan, V Reyonlds, G Reynolds, Mel Noonan.

1975 started off with the sad news of the sudden death of Fr Phil McGee. Fr McGee was heavily involved with the great team of the 60s. He also was principal of Moyne Community School and had a big impact on football in Longford and both minor and senior level. The championship in 1975 was a non event as Laois won comfortably 3-13 to 1-8. 1976 was no better as Dublin were much too strong for Longford, winning 5-16 to 0-7. The draw in 1977 was kinder as Longford faced Carlow, the game ending in a 1-9 a piece draw, but the replay saw Carlow come through 1-10 to 1-8. Offaly were to prove too strong in the 1978 championship and in 1979 Louth were too strong for Longford in minor, junior and senior championships.

1970’s – Club Overview

The club scene was more evenly balanced in the 70s with Slashers winning 3 titles, Clonguish 2, Granard 1 and historic first titles for Mostrim, Rathcline, Cashel and Ardagh. Intermediate titles went to Rathcline, Ardagh, and first time titles for Legan, Mullinalaghta/Fr Manning Gaels, Kilashee, Fr Manning Gaels, Abbeylara, Killoe, Carrickedmond and Dromard. Junior titles went to Dromard, St Munis Forgney (first title), Rathcline, Abbeylara, Fr Manning Gaels, Sean Connollys, Kenagh, Mullinalaghta, Slashers and Colmcille.