JFC Final: Longford Slashers beat Killoe Young Emmets

Longford Slashers 1-11, Killoe Young Emmets 0-07 

By Deniese O’Flaherty Longford Slashers claimed the Junior A title for the first time since 2001 with a seven point win over Killoe. A goal from Sean Clarke in the ninth minute set Slashers on their way to victory. The Townies dominated large spells of the game and deserved this victory. They made a bright start to the game; a point from Ciaran Farrell and Clarke’s goal put them ahead by four before Killoe got their opening point in the 11th minute when David Mimnagh hit over a free. Andrew Kelly hit over two points to put five between them. Ger Carbery replied for Killoe before Robbie Clarke fired over a good point. Slashers lost Chris McGurran in the 23rd minute when he was black carded. Before the break Carberry and Andrew Lyons exchanged points to leave the score – 1-05 to 0-03. Three points at the start of the second half put Slashers ahead by three. Killoe replied with three points to cut the gap to five but that was as near as they could get to Slashers. Farrell got a point in the 44th minute before Robbie Clarke’s shot came back off the crossbar. Farrell was on target again to stretch the lead to seven entering the final 10 minutes. Killoe struggled to find scores and their last point was a Mimnagh free in the 56th minute. Kelly got the final score of the game in the 60th minute to give Slashers their fourth title at this stage grade. Longford Slashers: D Doherty; D Glennon, B O’Rourke, R Sheehan; S Dann, D McRory, S Clarke (1-1); A Lyons (0-1), S Campbell; R Clarke, J Martin (0-2), C Farrell (0-3,1f); A Kelly (0-3), C McGurran, R Clarke (0-1). Subs: M Jennings for McGurran (bc, 23mins), C Kavanagh for S Clarke (53mins), M Mulligan for Kelly (60mins), B Rooney for R Clarke (62mins).
Killoe: T Quinn; T Brady, S Doherty, F O’Reilly; J Hughes, C Keogh (0-1), P O’Reilly; F Kiernan, R Cullen; G Carberry (0-2), G Connell, D Kelly; D Mimnagh (0-3,3f), S Maguire (0-1), J Conlon. Subs: T Donohoe for R Cullen and D Kiernan for D Kelly (half-time), J Moloney for Brady (39mins), C Devaney for F Kiernan (47mins), J Fitzpatrick for Connell (55mins), P Mollaghan for Mimnagh (59mins) Referee: Michael Farrell (Ballymahon)