Primary Schools Indoor Hurling

Our Primary Schools Indoor Hurling Competition took place over the last 5 weeks. 37 teams played in the competition representing 19 Longford Schools. Some fine displays of hurling were seen over the last few weeks in Newtownforbes Sports Hall. Below is a rundown of the finals held on Wednesday 8th.

Division 8

Abbeylara v Clondra 2

This was a division contested by Abbeylara and Clondra. There was a massive effort by both teams. Abbeylara took the lead early in the game. Once settled Clondra defended well lead by player of the match Jack Mc Weeney. However as the whistle went it was Abbeylara’s day and their captain Lara Mulligan received the cup on behalf of her team.

Division 7

Kenagh 2 v Gaelscoil 2

Kenagh came out strong and attacked well. However brave goal keeping from player of the match Niamh Ni Bhriain kept them at bay. Kenagh’s defence made it hard for the Gaelscoil to put scores on the board and so Kenagh came out on top. Captain Darren Farrell received the shield on behalf of Kenagh’s team.

Division 6

Newtownforbes 3 v Glen

This was Newtownforbes first of three finals on the day. It was a very closely contested match with both teams making a huge effort. Newtown clocked up some scores early but Player of the Match Glen’s Lee Dolan would not lie down. At full time Glen had made up the difference and we entered into Golden Goal. This was an exciting and fast paced game with neither team able to break each other’s defence. Newtown eventually found an open space and made use of it scoring the golden goal. Their captain Lewis Mc Donagh received the shield on behalf of their team.

Division 5

St. Matthews 2 v St. Johns 1

Both teams showed great heart and determination throughout the game. St. Matthews were determined to defend their title but St. Johns had other plans. Player of the Match St. Matthews Aaron Devlin worked hard and aimed for goal at every opportunity. However St. John’s defended well and were victorious on the night. Their captains Zac Tungsteen & Sam Davis received the shield on behalf of their team.

Division 4

Newtownforbes 2 v Killoe 2

Newtownfrobes were contending their 2nd final of the night against a very strong and determined Killoe team. Newtownforbes got off to a strong start putting scores on the board. But once settled Killoe got stuck into the game lead by a very talented and determined Shane Smyth who was later named Player of the Match. They pulled back scores however the gap was to much and Newtown were to take home their second shield of the night. Captain Seamus Hanley received the shield on behalf of the team.

Division 3

Colehill 3 v Killoe 1

Killoes second final of the day. This was another great battle between two very determined teams and would go down to the narrowest of margins. Colehill got off to a good start scoring first but Killoe responded well at times while both teams remained level. Players of the Match Killoe’s Zac McKeon and Adam Donnelly were determined and would not give up. But Colehill responded with Caoimhe Mulvey’s third goal of the night to seal the win. Colehill’s captain Daniel Egan received the cup on behalf of his team mates and acknowledged Killoe’s strong efforts.

Division 2

Fermoyle 1 v Melview 1

This was a fast paced well contested game with some great scores by two very talented teams. Player of the Match Melviews Harry Herterich led by example throughout the game covering back and not afraid to push forward when the opportunity arose. However Fermoyle proved too strong on the night putting away some beautiful scores. Their captain Jimmy Farrell accepted the cup on behalf of his teamates thanking parents and teachers for their support. He also acknowledged Killoe’s game efforts and thanked them for a great match.

Division 1

Newtownforbes 1 v Edgeworthstwon 1

Newtownforbes third and last final of the night, could they get a clean sweep? Edgeworthstown came out to defend their title with a strong, passionate and an extremely skilful side. Throughout this final we saw fantastic displays of hurling from both sides. Player of the match Edgeworthstown’s Andy Divine worked bravely in goals throughout the game. But Newtownforbes were to win their third shield of the night. They were cheered on by their two other teams who had waited to see the final. Captain Matthew Flynn accepted the shield on behalf of the team and he thanked Edgeworthstown for a great game and finished by thanking parents, teachers & his teammates.

Over the five weeks we saw fine displays of hurling, sportsmanship and most importantly fun and enjoyment of a great game. All teams had three blitz nights where they were guaranteed three games a night. Well done to all schools, their teachers and their coaches without whose support we could not facilitate this competition.

Kathlyn Quinn