Seán Connolly Cup - Winners

The Seán Connolly Cup has been presented to the Longford Senior Football Championships since 1960. The cup is named after a Ballinalee man who was synonymous with the War of Independence as Officer Commanding the Longford Brigade. Seán Connolly was an IRA activist from France, Ballinalee, but he was also used by IRA GHQ to organize surrounding areas; first County Roscommon and then County Leitrim. When Michael Collins ordered Connolly into the county, he warned that it was “the most treacherous county in Ireland”. His warning was well founded.

As Connolly was running a training camp at Selton Hill in early 1921, his position was given to the RIC. The RIC District Inspector had been alerted to Connolly’s position by a local doctor who had served in the British Army. A large force of RIC and Auxiliaries, based in Mohill, surrounded and then attacked the IRA camp on 11 March. A total of six IRA volunteers were killed. The RIC suffered no losses. The IRA dead were Sean Connolly from Longford, Seamus Wrynne, Joseph O’Beirne (or Beirne), John Reilly, Joseph Reilly, and Capt ME Baxter. Sean was interred in Clonbroney Graveyard. The Cavalry Barracks in Longford and the GAA club in Clonbroney are named in honour of Sean Connolly. The centenary of his death was on the 11th March 2021.

Below is a table of all Connolly Cup winners, along with winning captains and Man of the Match (Fr. McGee Award) winners.

YearSeán Connolly Cup WinnerWinning CaptainMan of Match
2019Killoe Young EmmetsSeán McCormackDaniel Mimnagh
2018Mullinalaghta St. ColumbasShane MulliganDavid McGivney
2017Mullinalaghta St. ColumbasShane MulliganRian Brady
2016Mullinalaghta St. ColumbasShane MulliganJohn Keegan
2015Killoe Young EmmetsMichael QuinnConor Berry *
2014Killoe Young EmmetsJoe McCormackDaniel Mimnagh
2013Longford SlashersDermot BradyDermot Brady
2012Killoe Young EmmetsJoe McCormackSean McCormack
2011Longford SlashersDermot BradyPaul Kelly
2010Longford SlashersDermot BradyDavid Sheridan
2009ClonguishPaul BardenDavid Barden
2008ColmcilleFrancis KavanaghDeclan C Reilly
2007DromardPadraig JonesFrank McGee
2006AbbeylaraDonal LedwithNiall Sheridan
2005DromardCathal ConefreyDiarmuid Masterson
2004ClonguishBrendan BurkePaul Barden
2003ClonguishEnda BardenPaddy Dowd
2002BallymahonKen CooneyFrankie Dolan
2001Fr. Manning GaelsDavid HannifyFrank McNamee
2000AbbeylaraNiall SheridanTerry Drake
1999DromardCathal ConefreyPaul Jones
1998Fr. Manning GaelsFrank McNameePauric Davis
1997Fr. Manning GaelsFrank McNameePauric Davis
1996Fr. Manning GaelsFrank McNameePadraic Brady
1995Killoe Young EmmetsMark MimnaghJohn Toher
1994Longford SlashersNiall CaslinGerry Clarke
1993Killoe Young EmmetsJohn McCormackJohn McCormack
1992MostrimGerry LynnBernie Connell
1991Longford SlashersDessie BarryDessie Barry
1990Longford SlashersDessie BarryDessie Barry
1989Longford SlashersDermot CaslinDessie Barry
1988Killoe Young EmmetsDeclan RowleyFrank Kennedy
1987Ardagh St. PatricksSean KiernanBrendan Lennon *
1986CashelFrank CarberryMick Casey
1985MostrimMickey O'HaraJohn Smith
1984CashelGerry FarrellMick Casey
1983CashelPeter BannonBrendan Smyth
1982St. Marys GranardPadraig KearneyKevin O'Rourke
1981ClonguishJohn BlessingJimmy McCormack
1980Longford SlashersJohn MurphyDonal O'Brien
1979Longford SlashersJohn MurphyMichael Sexton
1978Ardagh St. PatricksJJ OrohoePat Higgins
1977CashelMike KennyJim Kenny
1976RathclinePat McCormack
1975Longford SlashersHal Carey
1974MostrimDeclan Dockery
1973ClonguishKevin Doyle
1972ClonguishSeamus Flynn
1971Longford SlashersAlex Baxter
1970St. Marys GranardCharlie Martin
1969ClonguishPat Burke
1968ClonguishSeamus Flynn
1967St. Marys GranardMartin Clyne
1966St. Marys GranardSeán O'Rourke
1965ClonguishPaddy Hanrahan
1964ClonguishPaddy Hanrahan
1963ClonguishPaddy Hanrahan
1962ClonguishPaddy Hanrahan
1961Longford SlashersMichael Kelly
1960Killoe Young EmmetsBilly Morgan

(* Denotes man of the match winners who were not from the winning team)